"The Democracy Lab" -- Resources for teachers and students -

Contact LRE @:

8000 Weston Parkway
Cary, NC 27513
(919) 677-0561

Law-Related Education › Resources › Courthouse Tour Information

Courthouse Tour Information

A courthouse visit is an excellent way to teach your students about our legal system. On this page, teachers can find information about touring the courthouses within their counties. Depending on your county, your class may even be able to meet with a judge, use a courtroom for a mock trial, or visit the courthouse lockup.

We hope that North Carolina teachers find this information helpful. If you have any suggestions or find information that needs to be updated, please contact

Select your county to see where your courthouse is located, who to contact at the courthouse for tours, and what options exist for tours of the courthouse.

Alamance CountyAlexander CountyAlleghany CountyAnson CountyAshe CountyAvery CountyBeaufort CountyBertie CountyBladen CountyBrunswick CountyBuncombe CountyBurke CountyCabarrus CountyCaldwell CountyCamden CountyCarteret CountyCaswell CountyCatawba CountyChatham CountyCherokee CountyChowan CountyClay CountyCleveland CountyColumbus CountyCraven CountyCumberland CountyCurrituck CountyDare CountyDavidson CountyDavie CountyDuplin CountyEdgecombe CountyForsyth CountyFranklin CountyGaston CountyGates CountyGraham CountyGranville CountyGreene CountyGuilford CountyHalifax CountyHarnett CountyHaywood CountyHenderson CountyHertford CountyHoke CountyHyde CountyIredell CountyJackson CountyJohnston CountyJones CountyLee CountyLenoir CountyLincoln CountyMacon CountyMadison CountyMartin CountyMcDowell CountyMecklenburg CountyMitchell CountyMontgomery CountyMoore CountyNash CountyNew Hanover CountyNorthampton CountyOnslow CountyOrange CountyPamlico CountyPasquotank CountyPender CountyPerquimans CountyPerson CountyPitt CountyPolk CountyRandolph CountyRichmond CountyRobeson CountyRockingham CountyRowan CountyRutherford CountySampson CountyScotland CountyStanley CountyStokes CountySurry CountySwain CountyTransylvania CountyTyrrell CountyUnion CountyVance CountyWake CountyWarren CountyWashington CountyWatauga CountyWayne CountyWilkes CountyWilson CountyYadkin CountyYancey County

North Carolina counties are listed from left to right [search.gif], in the table below.

Alamance Alexander Alleghany Anson Ashe
Avery Beaufort Bertie Bladen Brunswick
Buncombe Burke Cabarrus Caldwell Camden
Carteret Caswell Catawba Chatham Cherokee
Chowan Clay Cleveland Columbus Craven
Cumberland Currituck Dare Davidson Davie
Duplin Durham Edgecombe Forsyth Franklin
Gaston Gates Graham Granville Greene
Guilford Halifax Harnett Haywood Henderson
Hertford Hoke Hyde Iredell Jackson
Johnston Jones Lee Lenoir Lincoln
Macon Madison Martin McDowell Mecklenburg
Mitchell Montgomery Moore Nash New Hanover
Northampton Onslow Orange Pamlico Pasquotank
Pender Perquimans Person Pitt Polk
Randolph Richmond Robeson Rockingham Rowan
Rutherford Sampson Scotland Stanley Stokes
Surry Swain Transylvania Tyrrell Union
Vance Wake Warren Washington Watauga
Wayne Wilkes Wilson Yadkin Yancey

In addition, Courthouse tours of the N.C. Supreme Court and N.C. Court of Appeals are also available.

ACCESS the NC Trial Courthouse website for information of general interest about the North Carolina Court System, court calendars, schedules, local rules, judicial forms, and court contract information, in addition to court programs, court processes and general information on the workings of the North Carolina Court System.